A day in the sun

Believe it or not, it’s already the end of May. The month flew by and I haven’t posted once. My apologies, dear readers. It’s been an extremely busy month. With graduation, parents visiting, the Lost series finale (YIKES!), and the weather finally starting to warm up, I really haven’t been home much. I am back, though, and fully committed to bringing this blog back to life. I mean, with the summer right around the corner (for a reason I can’t really explain, in my eyes, summer doesn’t begin until at least June), there’s a long list of fun things to do in Boston. So let’s get started.

It’s Memorial Day on Monday, and if you’re anything like me, you don’t really have any plans but to enjoy the day off. Weather.com tells me it’s going to be 73 degrees on  Monday. What more can we ask for? So, if you don’t have any plans for the day, may I suggest a picnic?

The idea of grabbing a blanket, some cold fruit, refreshing drinks, a good group of friends and just laying out in the sun has been lingering in the back of my head for a while now. Yup, I’ve been craving a picnic. They’re just so relaxing and fun. Now, the the thing is, where should you have said picnic? Well there’s always big parks like Boston Common and the Public Garden. Chances are, those spots will be full of other Bostonians trying to soak up the sun. One of my favorite spots is outside the Christian Science Center. It’s the perfect spot, really. The architecture of the building is beautiful, the reflection pool is mesmerizing, and Bon Bon is right across Mass. Ave if you feel the need to cool down with some gelato.

In any case, we should all take advantage of the long weekend. It’s probably too late to plan a fun get-away to the Cape, so we must work with what we have – and what we have is a day off, beautiful weather, and a great city to enjoy it all in.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

